Henrico County Virginia Traffic Court
Henrico County VA Traffic Court Overview
Before pleading guilty to a Henrico County, VA reckless driving, speeding ticket or other traffic violation contact Henrico Reckless Driving Lawyer Gregory Hough for a FREE case evaluation 804.864.9424!
NOTICE: This website is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the Henrico, Virginia Courthouse. Please visit the Henrico County website for the most up to date information: http://www.co.henrico.va.us/clerk/
Post-Court Payments: Effective July 20, 2009, if you are tried in your absence and wish to pay your fines and costs, you can go the Supreme Court of Virginia website at www.courts.state.va.us. When you get to the homepage click on “Online Services” then click on “Payments Online (General District Courts Only).” Court Calendar – Matters regarding traffic violations are heard on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday at 9:30 a.m., 11:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.
Prepayment of Fines and Costs – Most traffic infractions may be prepaid prior to the scheduled court date. If you elect to prepay your tickets prior to the court date, you can make payments in the form of cash (in person), personal check, or money order. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the Henrico General District Court. You may prepay your tickets on the day of court as follows:
If you are scheduled to be in court at 9:30 a.m. and wish to prepay your ticket(s), you must do so no later than 9:15 a.m.
If you are scheduled to be in court at 11:00 a.m. and wish to prepay your ticket(s), you must do so no later than 10:45 a.m.
If you are scheduled to be in court at 1:30 p.m. and wish to prepay your ticket(s), you must do so no later than 1:15 p.m.
You may pay your tickets in person at the Henrico General District Court Clerk’s office, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The General District Court Clerk’s office is located at the Henrico Government Center, Parham and Hungary Springs Road.
If you elect to make your payment by mail, be sure to include the yellow summons, or a copy of the summons, that was issued by the officer. Attach your check or money order to the summons and mail it to the court. NEVER SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL. If you have any questions regarding prepayment of fines/costs, contact the Clerk’s office at (804) 501-4723.
Before you plead guilty to a Henrico, VA DUI DWI violation contact Henrico DUI Lawyer Gregory Hough for a free case evaluation!
The General District Court does accept payments made with MasterCard/Visa; however, credit card payments will not be accepted over the telephone.
You may also prepay your summons online by going to the Supreme Court website at www.courts.state.va.us. When you get to the main page click on General District Court Case Information and follow the instructions. Online prepayments will not be accepted after 3:30 p.m. the day prior to your court date.
Post-Court Payments: Effective July 20, 2009, if you are tried in your absence and wish to pay your fines and costs, you can go the Supreme Court of Virginia website at www.courts.state.va.us. When you get to the homepage click on “Online Services” then click on “Payments Online (General District Courts Only).”
Payments must be received within 15 days following your court date to prevent the suspension of your operator’s/driver’s license for failure to pay. If the court has not received your payment within 40 days following your court date, your account will begin to accrue interest and will be sent to the collection agent. The total amount due will include the interest posted to your account.
|Speeding §46.2-870; §46.2-871 through §46.2-872; §46.2-873.1 through §46.2-876; §46.2-878; §46.2-881;||$6.00 per mile over the speed limit||$66.00|
|Speeding §46.2-873 School Crossing
Speeding §46.2-878.1 Highway Work Zone
|$7.00 per mile over the speed limit||$66.00|
|Speeding §46.2-878.2 Residence District where posted||$8.00 per mile over the speed limit $200.00||$66.00|
|Fail to obey highway sign||$30.00||$66.00|
|Fail to obey traffic light VA Code Section 46.2-833||$100.00||$66.00|
|Evasion of traffic control device VA Code Section 46.2-833.1||$50.00||$66.00|
|Fail to obey stop sign||$30.00||$66.00|
|Fail to yield right of way||$30.00||$66.00|
|Fail to drive on right side of highway||$25.00||$66.00|
|Fail to give proper signal||$30.00||$66.00|
|Following too closely||$30.00||$66.00|
|Impeding flow of traffic||$30.00||$66.00|
|Improper lane change||$30.00||$66.00|
|Drive wrong way on one-way street||$30.00||$66.00|
|Creating a traffic hazard||$20.00||$66.00|
|Texting while driving
2nd or subsequent offense
|Possess/Use radar detector||$40.00||$66.00|
|Expired State Inspection||$30.00||$66.00|
|Drive on expired rejected sticker||$30.00||$66.00|
|Expired State tags or registration||$25.00||$66.00|
|Fail to carry license or registration||$10.00||$66.00|
|Fail to display license plates||$25.00||$66.00|
|Fail to dim headlights||$30.00||$66.00|
|Fail to wear a seatbelt (Adult)||$25.00||No Cost|
|Fail to wear seatbelt (Minor Age 8-17 years)||$50.00||No Cost|
|Child restraint violation through Age 8||$50.00||No Cost|
|Using Abusive Language||$60.00||$76.00|
If you are issued multiple summonses you would only pay the $66.00 court costs on one summons. The other summonses would include the fine plus $10.00. For example:
|Fail to obey a highway sign:||$30.00||$66.00||
|Possess/Use radar detector:||$40.00||$10.00||
If you are not sure how much your total fines and costs will be, contact the Henrico General District Court Clerk’s office at (804) 501-4723.
If you are involved in an accident and NOT CHARGED WITH RECKLESS DRIVING, and you are the defendant, you may prepay your ticket in lieu of appearing in court. If you are unsure of the amount of the fine contact the Henrico General District Court Clerk’s office at (804) 501-4723.
Trial in Absentia – If payment is not received by your court date the judge may try you in your absence, and impose any fine within statutory guidelines. In addition to the fine imposed and the $66.00 court cost, an additional $35.00 tried in absence fee is assessed. You will be notified by mail, within two business days of your scheduled court date, of the total amount due to the Court. You will have 15 calendar days to pay all fines and costs owed to the Court. Failure to pay your fines and costs will result in your privilege to drive being suspended and/or revoked by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
Right to Appeal – If you wish to appeal your case you must note the appeal, in writing, within ten (10) calendar days from your court date. If you have any questions regarding appeal procedures, contact the General District Court Clerk’s office at 501-4723.